Mic mods Vol.1

I’m awfully silly sometimes.  It’s additionally frustrating when this silliness is a by-product of deluded intuition.  The other night I decided I would try to modify my long suffering Sony stereo condenser microphone – extending the -/+ cables out a little so I’d be able to use each of the microphones independently and stick them in areas that would be otherwise inaccessible with the original microphone.

Well, this modification half worked.  One of the microphones has been temporarily rendered useless, as the solder from one of the mic’s connection points broke off.  It’s that microscopic, that I can’t feasibly cope with fixing it at the moment.  So…one microphone remains, and thankfully it works a treat.  I just wish I’d been a little more careful whilst I was taking it all apart, and I’ve really got to stop drinking wine when I do this kind of thing.

Pulling apart a perfectly good stereo condensor mic
Pulling apart a perfectly good stereo condensor mic
Extending the +/- cables out, soldering, taping, etc.
Extending the +/- cables out, soldering, taping, etc.
Some of the original casing goies back on
Some of the original casing goies back on
Resonances here we come...
Resonances here we come...
1 thought on “Mic mods Vol.1”

Leave a Reply

