TLR is Garden Ruin: 3 new songs! (and counting..)

Over the weekend I managed to record some songs. Yes, actual songs…the kind of thing I used to do a few years ago, at an alarming rate.  Over the last couple of years songwriting was not really interesting me that much, I hadn’t been playing guitar that much either – I guess the appeal of electronic music/sound art was winning out. Over the last year I re-engaged with songwriting and guitar playing, working on a selection of songs and attempting to record them. This process was fraught with issues – I was getting lazy with recording songs, setting up a crappy laptop mic and recording inferior quality versions of under-developed songs. I had to get my act together, finishing the songs and setting up a decent recording environment.  I set up a suitable recording nook in our study this weekend:

One of the big decisions I made was to eliminate the laptop from the recording process instead using my old Tascam 424 Portastudio, recording straight to high speed cassette tape (remember those?) with a couple effects returns.  I would only use a computer for the purposes of capturing the tape recording, normalising the signal and encoding as lossless and compressed audio formats.  Obviously this approach compromises the audio quality but as far as I’m concerned the pros outweigh the cons – there’s a greater spontaneity to the performances and limitations on overdubbing/overproduction.  The songs below are finished tracks – decidedly lo-fi, ramshackle and raw, but in my opinion far better than anything that I’ve attempted in the past couple of years.  This lo-fi approach is now going to be the Garden Ruin aesthetic.

The songs can be downloaded/listened to as mp3s or alternatively streamed via MySpace here.

Handful of Starlings

Carpet of Leaves

Withered and Died (Richard Thompson)

The fact that "Handful of Starlings" was my first finished studio song in nearly three years merited some artwork!
Leave a Reply

