Goolwa (7-8 May 2011)

Over the weekend I was in Goolwa, a small town (pop. 6000) on the Eastern side of the Fleurieu Peninsula. It was mostly arts-centric business, but I did get an afternoon to wander about for a few hours. 

When was the last time I was in Goolwa?  Probably sometime in 1998 or 1999.  I grew up on the other side of the Peninsula and there was never much reason the visit Goolwa – I didn’t have any friends there and it was a bit out of the way.  It’s one of the few towns on the Peninsula that I don’t have an immediate familiarity with, as opposed to towns like Normanville (home town), Yankalilla, Myponga, Second Valley, Cape Jervis, Victor Harbor, etc.  So it was a little strange and exciting to find myself back in this town after such a long period, along with uncharacteristically lovely weather as well.  If my memory’s any good I seem to be recall Goolwa being synonymous with overcast skies, freezing winds and a fair amount of rain.

I took some photos (below) and made a few recordings which I’ll make available soon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Goolwa (7-8 May 2011)”

Leave a Reply

