Wheatsheaf 19/9/2011

Image: Julie Robins

I played my first electronic show of 2011 last night at The Wheatsheaf as part of COMA’s Hipnote sessions. The occasional bursts of rain and violent gusts of wind outside made for a nice atmosphere in the band area as the barstaff cranked up the overhead heaters for the audience and primed the fairylights that festoon the stage.

My set consisted of recent material with shifting layers of Monotron pulses, Casio CZ-101 tones, field recordings, signal processing and dense foggy drones. The (always impressive) mix by Marty emphasised the low-end frequencies that I was after whilst managing to retain the upper bands with great clarity. For the audience it was a primer for a new album I’ve been working on since mid-year. I made a recording on stage from the monitors which sounds pretty faithful and I’ll probably post the set online shortly.

1 thought on “Wheatsheaf 19/9/2011”

Leave a Reply

