Retirement from Weekly Beats (+ the rest of the year ahead)

21 weeks have elapsed and I have decided that I will have to pull out of Weekly Beats 2014. To be honest, I didn’t think I’d get to late May and be able to say that I’d produced 21 tracks on a weekly basis, as the process can range from being demanding to extremely demanding once day-to-day life is factored in. On a week to week basis, the tracks themselves are fairly diverse with the occasional three week block settling on a particular theme or genre. I was pleased to find a place for some of my Garden Ruin work during March.

All 21 tracks can be streamed below.

The primary reason for retiring from WB is because I need to give myself a break – a fairly long break. 2012-2014 has been an incredibly hectic period in terms of my artistic career with a variety of projects and commitments which have consumed a large part of my life for the past 2 1/2 years and whilst this has been incredibly rewarding, the strain is palpable enough now that I’ve taken the decision to slow my activity to a (near) halt. The rest of 2014 will be decidedly quieter, though there’s several archiving projects in the works and updates to the Fleurieu Sound Map coming soon. Depending on how this break works out, I may even get around to finishing an album I’ve been working on since early 2013.

Actually, this doesn’t really sound like a break does it? Rather, a change of pace.

Leave a Reply

