Vale, Murray Ball

8347618-3x2-700x467

Reading Footrot Flats comics is honestly one of the earliest coherent childhood memories I have. I think growing up in the country only heightened the escapism that his comics evoked; insofar that I fantasised of tramping over distant paddocks in gumboots and sleeping in a huge overturned rainwater tank. It firmly supplanted a fascination with NZ as well. More crucially, Murray Ball inspried me to draw and design cartoon strips and characters at an early age, which I continued to do all the way through high school producing zines and dozens of ambitious side projects until my preoccupation with music properly took hold. So in that sense, Footrot Flats was one of the catalysts for using my imagination and being creative; and for that I’m indebted to Murray Ball and very sad to hear of his death. What a bloody legend. Vale.

Leave a Reply

